Inspirational Call to Action: Life Is Painful, Life Is Beautiful

“Life is about change; sometimes it’s painful, sometimes it’s beautiful, but most of the time it’s both.”

 

Triangle Pose

Triangle Pose

 

 

In March 2013, I walked into a Bikram Yoga class both scared and excited for what would potentially occur during class. When class ended 90 minutes later; after 26 postures in 105 degree temperature, sweat dripping from areas of my body I didn’t know could sweat, me feeling worn out, I simply smiled because I finished the class in one piece; I survived. Little did I know that I would become an avid Bikram Yoga student whose main desire in life would be to complete an intensive 9 week Bikram Yoga Teacher Training program in Thailand beginning September 14, 2014 so that I can share the healing properties of yoga with my community. This is where I need your help.

“If 500 people donate $30 each, I can reach my goal”

gofundme icon

What Made Me Fall In Love with Bikram Yoga
During the time I discovered BY, I was personally going through health issues in which I was unable to solve even in my line of work as an Holistic Nutrition Consultant.  I was frustrated, stressed out and felt like a failure because my health conditions kept getting worse and worse and began to affect my ability to concentrate on my work.  I battled various ailments including:

– weight gain (despite clean eating and daily gym workouts)
–  inability to lose weight (gained 25 pounds in 6 months)
–  adrenal fatigue ( felt tired ALL the time)
–  Brain fog (i just couldn’t think, couldn’t concentrate!)
–  Constipation (yuck yuck)
–  digestive issues and food sensitivities
–  itchy, dry skin and scalp
–  hair loss coupled with inflammation
–  Autoimmune issues (disgnosed in 2009)
–  Weak, peeling fingernails
– Stress
– Anxiety

The extra weight gain is what made me give BY a try. I figured the sweat would help me to detox the impurities that were preventing me from losing weight. Little did I know that a regular yoga practice would help reduce, if not eliminate, many of the conditions mentioned above.  Today my stress and anxiety is non-existant most times;  my weight is under control; I am more focused than ever and can get lots of work done each day, my fingernails and digestive system have recovered and I am no longer fatigued.  The autoimmune condition and hair loss are related.  Although I still have it, the inflammation and itchy-scalp and skin has reduced tremendously.  Bikram Yoga has been the key reason for my healing when I had little clue that it would be the answer to my health woes.  My goal is to teach and share the practice of Bikram Yoga to the community so that they too can experience a new-found health and happiness physically, mentally and spiritually.

“Its never too late, its never too bad and you’re never too old or sick to start from scratch once again.” – Bikram Choudhury

Please take a minute and read my story at my GoFundMe page by clicking this link.  With yoga, we can heal our community.  Share the link, spread my message and support however you can.  No donation is too small.  I thank you dearly from my heart.

“I have been a seeker and I still am, but I stopped asking the books and the stars. I started listening to the teaching of my Soul.”

Click image below to read more and support my cause.

gofundme icon

Share your thoughts

