How to Love Yourself

Subscribe Button

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.

I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size

But when I start to tell them,

They think I’m telling lies.

I say,

It’s in the reach of my arms,

The span of my hips,

The stride of my step,

The curl of my lips.

I’m a woman

Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman,

That’s me.

Phenomenal Woman is one of my favorite poems ever.  I can listen to the words for hours on end.  Renowned poet, Maya Angelou gives women everywhere an intoxicating lesson on the beauty, power and awesomeness in which we possess.  If you are unfamiliar then you MUST read the whole poem, it’s quite inspiring.

I walk into a room

Just as cool as you please,

And to a man,

The fellows stand or

Fall down on their knees.

We women are powerful beyond belief.  Who else has the aura, softness and amazing grace to bring a man to his knees simply by walking into a room?  Sadly, many women are unaware of the strength, beauty and charm we possess.  Instead, we stay worried about belly pudge, acne, and crooked toes.  Women obsess about small imperfections when all a man notices is the beauty of the feminine body.

Valentine’s day is around the corner which means either one of two things:

1. If you are in a relationship you may get showered with chocolate, flowers and if your man really loves you — diamonds.

2. If you are single, your mind will be on overdrive wondering how you managed to end up dateless on yet another valentines day.

But single ladies everywhere, you must must must change this self-deprecating way of thinking — the health, success and longevity of any future relationship you will have depends on it.  Being single on valentines day is not the end of the world.   I have NEVER had a valentines day date in all of my 28 years on this planet.  But I am not bitter.  When February 14 rolls around, I can enjoy it just like the drunk-in-love couples that smother the streets everywhere like a plate of home cooked chicken and collard greens — why oh why must the juice greens get all over my chicken errghhhh.  But I digress…

I-Love-Me-44118211

…this Valentines Day, you must practice self-love. What is self-love you ask?  How can self-love add to your beauty, strength and grace?  How do you truly enjoy a dateless v-day?  All these questions and more are answered in this short video I put together with my dear friend Mourhia.  Take a moment to watch.

And remember, whether you are single or in a relationship, let February 14th be a fun, cheerful day.  Afterall, it’s on a Friday.

Share your thoughts

